Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.An office in the U.S. Department of the Treasury responsible for regulating approximately 2,600 national banks by examining them; approving or denying applications for bank charters, branches, or mergers; closing banks that fail to follow rules and regulations; and regulating banking practices. — Abbr. OCC.

[Blacks Law 8th]