Northwest Territory.Hist. The first possession of the United States, being the geographical region south of the Great Lakes, north of the Ohio River, and east of the Mississippi River, as designated by the Continental Congress in the late 1700s. • This area includes the present states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, and the eastern part of Minnesota.

[Blacks Law 8th]