Act of Union.Any of several acts of Parliament uniting various parts of Great Britain. • The

term applies to (1) the Laws in Wales Act (1535), which united Wales with England and made that

principality subject to English law, and (2) the Union with Ireland Act (1800), which abolished the

Irish Parliament and incorporated Ireland into the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. It

is used loosely in reference to the Union with Scotland in 1707, which was made not by statute but

by  treaty,  approved  by  separate  acts  of  the  parliaments  of  Scotland  and  England,  which  by  the

treaty dissolved each parliament and created the  new state of Great Britain with  one  parliament,

the Parliament of Great Britain. [Blacks Law 8th]